



Ref.: SCBD/SAM/DC/JSH/CE/85444

8 April 2016

NOTIFICATION

Selected Candidates for the Online Training Course on Rapid Identification of Invasive Alien Species for Achieving Aichi Biodiversity Target 9

Dear Madam/Sir.

In notification 2016-025, dated 26 February 2016, the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity invited Parties to nominate candidates to participate in a training course on the application of DNA barcoding in detection and monitoring of priority invasive alien species, pests and zoonotic disease vectors. The notification is accessible at: https://www.cbd.int/doc/notifications/2016/ntf-2016-025-gti-en.doc.

In this regard, I am pleased to announce that the selection of the candidates for the online course on DNA barcoding methodological approaches and technologies has been completed. The selection process was done in consultation with the GTI Coordination Mechanism and was carried out taking into account regional balance, gender equity, technical and relevant experience with national policy development on invasive alien species and its implementation, as well as the ability of trainees to work as trainers.

The list of selected candidates is attached in the annex to this notification. Thanks to the generous support from the Government of Japan, the Secretariat will provide financial assistance to cover the cost of the selected candidates from developing country Parties for participating in the online course.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias Exegutive Secretary

Enclosure

To: CBD National Focal Points, SBSTTA Focal Points, GTI National Focal Points





Convention on

Biological Diversity



Global Taxonomy Initiative Online Training Course on Rapid Identification of Invasive Alien Species for Achieving Aichi Biodiversity Target 9

No.	Country	Name	Gender
1	Bangladesh	Ms. Korsheda Yasmeen	F
2	Benin	Mr. Augustin Orou Matilo Timothee	M
3	Bosnia and Herzegovina	Ms. Ajla Dautbasic	F
4	Brazil	Ms. Graziele Oliveira Batista	F
5	Cambodia	Mr. Seng Rathea	М
6	Costa Rica	Ms. Laura Brenes	F
7	Democratic Republic of Congo	Mr. Freddy Bulubulu Otono	М
8	Dominican Republic	Ms. Aide Rosa Emilia Cornielle	F
9	Egypt	Mr. Mohamed Said Abdel-waith	M
10	Ethiopia	Mr. Taye Birhanu	М
11	Fiji	Mr. Nitesh Datt	М
12	India	Mr. Ramasamy Asokan	М
13	Indonesia	Ms. Henti Hendalastuti Rachmat	F
14	Mauritius	Mr. Seewajee Pandoo	M
15	Moldova	Ms. Anna Moldovan	F
16	Mongolia	Ms. Sandagdorj Bayarkhuu	F
17	Morocco	Mr. Taleb Abdelkader	M
18	Myanmar	Ms. Wah Wah Linn	F
19	Pakistan	Mr. Ghulam Sarwar	M
20	Philippines	Mr. Adrian Luczon	M
21	Solomon Islands	Mr. Fanai Ramo Crispus	M
22	South Africa	Ms. Thulisile Jaca	F
23	Sri Lanka	Ms. Wathukarage Jayani Nimanthika	F
24	Suriname	Ms. Vanessa Kadosoe	F
25	Tanzania	Ms. Beatrice Pallangyo	F
26	Tunisia	Ms. Mouna Rifi	F
27	Turkey	Ms. Ayse Yildiz	F
28	Uganda	Ms. Mary Namaganda	F
29	Ukraine	Mr. Andrii Mosaikin	М
30	Vietnam	Mr. Tu Do	М