

Ref.: SCBD/IMS/NP/ET/CPa/92053 6 May 2025

NOTIFICATION Composition of the Informal Advisory Group on Technical and Scientific Cooperation

Dear Sir or Madam,

I am pleased to circulate herewith the composition of the Informal Advisory Group on Technical and Scientific Cooperation for the 2025-2027 period.

In response to notification <u>2025-018</u> of 14 February 2025, 39 nominations were received, including 17 from Parties and 22 from relevant organizations representing indigenous peoples and local communities, women and youth, United Nations entities, regional and international organizations, non-governmental organizations and scientific institutions.

Based on the criteria specified in Annex III of decision 15/8 of the Conference of the Parties, and with due regard to regional and gender balance, the Secretariat has selected 15 new experts to serve on the Informal Advisory Group for a two-year term starting on 1 May 2025. In line with the operational procedures and modalities of the Informal Advisory Group, 16 experts who expressed interest to continue have been selected to serve a second and final two-year mandate to ensure the carry-over of institutional memory.

The fourth meeting of the Informal Advisory Group is scheduled to be held online in the third quarter of 2025. Further information and documents for the meeting will be made available in due course.

Please accept, Sir, Madam, the assurances of my highest consideration.

(Signed) Astrid Schomaker Executive Secretary

Enclosure

To: CBD national focal points, ABS focal points, Cartagena Protocol focal points, SBSTTA national focal points, indigenous peoples and local communities and relevant organizations







Annex

COMPOSITION OF THE INFORMAL ADVISORY GROUP ON TECHNICAL AND SCIENTIFIC COOPERATION – 2025-2027

Parties		
African States		
Malawi	Ms. Martha Mphatso Kalemba	
Morocco	Mr. Mostafa Madbouhi	
Nigeria	Mr. Onyeka Kingsley Nwosu	
South Africa	Ms. Mukondi Matshusa	
Asia-Pacific States		
China	Ms. Yan Liu	
Indonesia	Mr. Gono Semiadi	
Japan	Mr. Motohiro Hasegawa	
Republic of Korea	Ms. Jeongeun Lim	
Eastern European States		
Belarus	Ms. Galina Mozgova	
Czechia	Mr. Jan Plesnik	
Hungary	Ms. Kinga Öllerer	
Turkmenistan	Ms. Ejebay Kokanova	
Latin American and the Caribbean States		
Antigua and Barbuda	Ms. Tricia Lovell	
Brazil	Mr. Marcelo Henrique Aguiar de Freitas	
Colombia	Ms. Diana Pulido	
Mexico	Mr. Eduardo Robelo González	
Western European and other States		
Australia	Mr. Karel Mokany	
Belgium	Mr. Han de Koeijer	
European Union	Mr. Gregoire Dubois	
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	Mr. Philip McGowan	
Indigenous Peoples and Local Communities, Women and Youth		
Centre for Indigenous Peoples' Research and Development (CIPRED)	Mr. Biswash Praja	
Fundación Ambiente y Recursos Naturales (FARN)/ CBD Women's Caucus	Ms. Pamela Tapia Diaz	
Global Youth Biodiversity Network (GYBN)	Ms. Mika Mei Jia Tan	

Organizations	
United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)	Ms. Christina Supples
UN Environment Programme World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UNEP-WCMC)	Ms. Natasha Ali
Organisation internationale de la Francophonie (OIF)	Mr. Issa Bado
ASEAN Centre for Biodiversity	Ms. Clarissa Arida
Alliance of Bioversity International and CIAT	Ms. Carolina Navarrete Frias
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)	Ms. Valerie D'Hoedt Meyer
Science Panel for the Amazon	Ms. Paulette Bynoe
World Wildlife Fund (WildLabs)	Ms. Talia Speaker