

Ref.: SCBD/SSSF/JL/JA/JMQ/90315

3 June 2022

NOTIFICATION

Selected participants for the Online Discussion Forum on conservation and sustainable use of marine and coastal biodiversity in preparation for the fifteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties

Dear Madam/Sir,

In notification <u>2022-028</u>, dated 17 May 2022, the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity invited Parties to nominate experts to participate in the Online Discussion Forum on conservation and sustainable use of marine and coastal biodiversity in preparation for the fifteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties, to be held from 8 to 15 June 2022 (new dates announced in notification 2022-036).

In this regard, I am pleased to announce that the selection of participants has been completed, in accordance with the selection criteria described in notification 2022-028. The list of selected participants is attached in the annex to this notification.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Elizabeth Maruma Mrema Executive Secretary

Enclosure

To: CBD National Focal Points; Marine and Coastal Biodiversity Focal Points; SBSTTA Focal Points; indigenous peoples and local communities; and relevant organizations









Annex

Selected participants for the Online Discussion Forum on the conservation and sustainable use of marine and coastal biodiversity in preparation for the fifteenth meeting of the

Conference of the Parties 8 to 15 June 2022

Africa

- Mr. Ahed Inal (Algeria)
- Mr. Simon Ndibnuh Patamakeen Aneck (Cameroon)
- Mr. Moustafa Fouda (Egypt)
- Ms. Fatma Zohra Hassouni (Morocco)
- Mr. Salomao Bandeira (Mozambique)
- Mr. Rudolph Cloete (Namibia)
- Ms. Marie-May Muzungaile (Seychelles)
- Mr. Steve Kirkman (South Africa)
- Mr. Mohammed El Khitma El Awad (Sudan)

Asia and the Pacific region

- Mr. Yinfeng Guo (China)
- Ms. Vanessa Fread (Federal States of Micronesia)
- Mr. Yohei Mori (Japan)
- Mr. Buthainah Fawwaz Batarseh (Jordan)
- Ms. Aisha Almarhoun (Kuwait)
- Ms. Karenne Tun Phyu Phyu (Singapore)
- Ms. Khunchanaport Wuddhivorawong (Thailand)
- Ms. Rolenas Baereleo (Vanuatu)

Central and Eastern Europe region

Mr. Alexander Shestakov (Russia)

(Note: only one nomination was received from CEE region

Latin American and Caribbean Group region

- Ms. Monica Gabay (Argentina)
- Ms. Ana Claudia de Paula (Brazil)
- Ms. Jenny Asch Corrales (Costa Rica)
- Mr. Victor Eduardo Chocho Sanchez (Ecuador)
- Mr. Kemraj Parsram (Guyana)
- Ms. Andrea F.M. Donaldson (Jamaica)
- Ms. Dalila Aldana Aranda (México)
- Ms. Elisa Goya Sueyoshi (Perú)
- Mr. Jeremiah Edmund (St Lucia)

Western European and Others Group

- Mr. Piers Dunstan (Australia)
- Ms. Sophie Mirgaux (Belgium)
- Ms. Reneé Sauvé (Canada)
- Ms. Penina Blankett (Finland)
- Mr. Janos Hennicke (Germany)
- Mr. Adam van Opzeeland (New Zealand)
- Ms. Eva Degre (Norway)
- Ms. Elvira Garcia-Bellido Capdevila (Spain)
- Ms. Farah Chaudry (United Kingdom)

.

Organizations

- Mr. Kim Friedman (FAO)
- Ms. Marie Bourrel-McKnon (ISA)
- Mr. Ward Appeltans (IOC-UNESCO)
- Ms. Charlotte Salpin (UN-DOALOS)
- Mr. Chris McOwen (UNEP-WCMC)
- Ms. Anete Berzina-Rodrigo (IUCN)
- Ms. Elizabeth Voges (South East Atlantic Fisheries Organization)
- Ms. Vivienne Solis Rivera (CoopeSoliDar R.L.)
- Mr. David Obura (CORDIO)
- Ms. Anna Metaxas (DEEP-Ocean Stewardship Initiative)
- Mr. Serge Garcia (Fisheries Expert Group, IUCN)
- Mr. David Johnson (GOBI)
- Ms. Kate Strachan (ICLEI-Local Government for Sustainability)
- Mr. Thomas Dallison (International Coral Reef Initiative)
- Ms. Purificacio Canals (MedPAN)
- Ms. Carolina Hazin (The Nature Conservancy)
- Mr. Alfred DeGemmis (Wildlife Conservation Society)
- Ms. Camille Loth (WWF)
- Ms. Daniela Diz (Lyell Centre, Heriot-Watt University)