

Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity



Ref.: SCBD/SEL/OH/MRe/56264

17 October 2006

NOTIFICATION

African Regional Workshop on Sustainable Use (focus on agriculture) Nairobi, Kenya, 12-15 December 2006 (Decision VII/12)

List of selected experts

Dear Madam/Sir,

In paragraph 5 of decision VII/12 on sustainable use, the Conference of the Parties requested the Executive Secretary to convene a series of technical expert workshops on ecosystem services assessment, financial costs and benefits associated with conservation of biodiversity, and sustainable use of biological resources.

Further to this decision, the Secretariat is organizing the African Regional Workshop on Sustainable Use with financial assistance from the Government of the Netherlands. The workshop is scheduled to take place in Nairobi, Kenya, from 12-15 December 2006.

In Notification 2006-087 of 19 July 2006, Parties from Africa were invited to designate experts to participate in the above mentioned workshop. I am pleased to inform you that the Secretariat has completed the selection of participants for this meeting on the basis of nominations received. The selection of experts is based on relevant expertise and experience, equitable geographical distribution and gender balance.

The list of all nominations received and the list of selected experts are attached to this notification for your information. Selected experts will be formally invited to participate in the meeting.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Yours sincerely,

Ahmed Djoghlaf Executive Secretary

Tel.: +1.514.288.2220

Fax: +1.514.288.6588

To: CBD National Focal Points



Annex I

African Regional Workshop on Sustainable Use (focus on agriculture) Nairobi, Kenya, 12-15 December 2006 (Decision VII/12)

I. SELECTED EXPERTS

| Name | Country (Party to the CBD) |
|------|-----------------------------------|
| | |

Ms. Otti Colette Edith Ekobo Cameroon

Mr. Mwaku Ipanga Democratic Republic of the Congo

Mr. Mohamed Mahmoud Essawy Egypt

Mr. Ahmed Ibrahim Ethiopia

Prof. Abdourahamane Sangare Côte d'Ivoire

M. Modibo Cisse Mali

Mr. Saidi Seddik Morocco

Mr. Hassane Saley Niger

Mrs. Mermedah Moustache Seychelles

Ms. Hadyatou Dantsey-Barry Togo

Mr. Francis Ogwal Uganda

Mr. Kudzai Kusena Zimbabwe

II. NOMINATIONS RECEIVED

<u>Name</u> <u>Country</u>

Mr. Raphael Ogounchi Benin

Ms. Otti Colette Edith Ekobo Cameroon

Mr. Ambadi Issouf Comoros

Mr. Mohamed Mahmoud Essawy Egypt

Mr. Ahmed Ibrahim Ethiopia

Mme Matilde da Conceição Gomes Lopes Guinea-Bissau

Prof. Abdourahamane Sangare Côte d'Ivoire

Mr. Jonathan W. Davies Liberia

Mr. Henri Célestin Madagascar

M. Modibo Cisse Mali

Mr. Saidi Seddik Morocco

Mr. Kevin Ruhomaun Mauritius

Mr. Manuel Victor Poio Mozambique (1)

Mrs. Natércia Alberto M. Nhabanga Mozambique (2)

Mr. Hassane Saley Niger

M. Jean Colin Namedoum Congo

Mr. Mwaku Ipanga Democratic Republic of the Congo (1)

Mr. Shabani Kianzale Democratic Republic of the Congo (2)

Ms. Hadyatou Dantsey-Barry Togo

Ms. Aimée Mpambara Rwanda

Mrs. Mermedah Moustache Seychelles

<u>Name</u> <u>Country</u>

Mr. Alusine Fofonah Sierra Leone

Dr. ElTahir Ibrahim Sudan

Mr. Nabil Hamada Tunisia

Mr. Francis Ogwal Uganda

Mr. Kudzai Kusena Zimbabwe (1)

Mr. Cossy Musokonyi Zimbabwe (2)

III. Experts from the following organizations were also invited to participate, as observers, at this meeting:

International Federation of Agricultural Producers (IFAP)

Tropical Soil Biology and Fertility Institute of the Centro International de Agricultural Tropical (TSBF-CIAT-Nairobi)

Union Tunisienne de l'Agriculture et de la Pêche (UTAP)

United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)

World Agroforestry Centre International Center for Research in Agroforestry (ICRAF)