

Secretariat

Ref.: SCBD/SEL/ML/GD/45717

24 November 2004

NOTIFICATION

Dear Madam/Sir,

Establishment of an expert group on technology transfer and technical and scientific cooperation

At its seventh meeting, the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) requested the Executive Secretary "to establish an expert group on technology transfer and scientific and technical cooperation, balanced regionally as well as in respect to expertise, which shall assist the Executive Secretary, through electronic consultations and long-distance communications as well as through meetings in conjunction with the informal advisory committee of the clearing-house mechanism" (decision VII/29, paragraph 7).

I am pleased to inform Parties that the expert group on technology transfer and scientific and technical cooperation has been established as requested.

The list of selected experts and representatives of international organizations is attached. The selection of experts was based on nominations by Parties and organizations, taking into account the nominee's expertise and experience in the field of technology transfer and technical and scientific cooperation as well as geographical distribution and gender balance. The list of all nominations received by the Secretariat is also attached.

The selected experts are being contacted and provided with further information regarding the initiation of consultations by means of long-distance communication as well as an electronic forum established under the CBD web site.

Yours sincerely,

Hamdallah Zedan Executive Secretary

To: CBD National Focal Points CHM Focal Points



Tel.: (514) 288-2220 Fax: (514) 288-6588

website: www.biodiv.org e-mail: secretariat@biodiv.org

Selected experts for the expert group on technology transfer and technical and scientific cooperation

Governments

Mr. Arnold Jacques De Dixmude (Belgium) Ms. Volga Iñiguez (Bolivia) Ms. Drena Gadzo (Bosnia and Herzegovina) Ms. Maria Jose Sampaio (Brazil) Ms. Nancy S. Hamzawi (Canada) Ms. Yan Yonghong (China) Mr. Fernardo Casas-Castañeda (Colombia) Mr. Horst Freiberg (Germany) Mr. Martin Agyeman Odei (Ghana) Mr. Ali Mohammad Khorshidi (Iran) Ms. Consolater W. Kiragu (Kenya) Mr. Jose Luis Solleiro (Mexico) Ms. Gunn Paulsen (Norway) Ms. Ndeye Sene Thiam (Senegal) Ms. Darunee Edwards (Thailand) Mr. Rogelio Panlasigue (The Philippines) Mr. Vehbi Eser (Turkey) Mr. Kenneth Nkowani (Zambia)

Organizations

(FAO) To nominate an expertMr. August Temu (ICRAF)Mr. Balakrishna Pisupati (IUCN)Mr. Edward Hammond (TWN)Mr. Jeremy Harrison (UNEP-WCMC)Mr. Kari Kangas (UNFF)Mr. Brendan Tobin (UNU)

Industry

Mr. Robert B. Horsch (Monsanto Co.)

List of Nominated Experts - Expert Group on Technology Transfer and Technical and Scientific Cooperation

	AFRICA	Ghana	Mr.Martin Agyeman Odei	М	Parasitology&Malacology	Executive Secretary	National Science&Technology Foundation
	AFRICA	Kenya	Ms. Consolater W. Kiragu	F	MSc Env. Resources	DeputyPermanentRepres.	Kenya Mission to UNEP/Ministry of ForeignAffairs
	AFRICA	Kenya	Mr. Edward Owango	М	BSc AgriculturalEconomics	AgriculturalEconomist	Ministry of Agriculture
	AFRICA	Mali	Mr. Modibo Cisse	M	Ing. Des eaux et Forets; D. E. A.		DirectionNat.de la Conservation deNature
	AFRICA AFRICA	Niger Senegal	Mr. Attari Boukar Ms. Ndeye Sene Thiam	M F	Ing. Zootechnicienne	Conseiller auSecretariatExecutif Chef de la Division Sante animale	
	AFRICA	Togo	Mr. Abdou-Kerim Moumouni	М	Ing. Des eaux et Forets	NFP, CHM	Direction des Parcs Nationaux
	AFRICA	Togo	Mr. Messanyi Gbeassor	M		Enseignant Chercheur	Universite de Lome/Faculte desSciences
	AFRICA	Zambia	Mr. Kenneth Nkowani	Μ		-	Env.&Natural Resources Mang.Dpt
	ASIA	BruneiD.	Ms. Noralinda Hj Ibrahim	F		Forestry Officer	Ministry of Ind. & Primary Res.
	ASIA	China	Mr. Dayuan Xue	Μ	PhD Urbanology&ResourcesSc	Professor	SEPA Institute of Env. Science
	ASIA	China	Ms. Yan Yonghong	F			State Intellectual PropertyOffice
	ASIA	China	Ms. Yang Hongju Mr. Ali Mohammad Khorshidi	F	BSc Science&Law PhD Environmental studies		State Intellectual PropertyOffice Directorate of the Environment
	ASIA ASIA	Iran Iran	Mr. Babak Mousavi	M M	Bsc Nat.Res.Fisheries&Env.	Secretary	Hormozgan Env.Research Council
	ASIA	Iran	Mr. Mahmoud Moghimi	M	MSc, NatureConserv.&Biodiv.M.	Expert of MarineEnvironment	GeneralDirectorateForTheProtectionOfTheEnv.
	ASIA	-	s Mr. Antonio C. Manila	M		Officer in Charge	ProtectedAreas and WildlifeBureau
	ASIA		s Mr. Rogelio Panlasigue	M		Undersecretary forResearch	Dpt of Science and Technology
	ASIA		s Ms. Saturnina C.Halos	F		2	NatBiosafetyFrameworkProject
	ASIA	Singapore	Mr. Tan Koh Siang	Μ	PhD Zoology, BScBiology		TropicalMarineScienceInstitute/Nat.Univ.
	ASIA	Thailand	Ms. Darunee Edwards	F	Mini MBA	Deputy Director	National Center for GeneticEng&Biotech.
	ASIA	Thailand	Mr. Apichart Termvidchakorn	Μ	PhD Fisheries	SeniorFisheriesBiologist	InlandFisheriesResourcesResearch&Developm.Insitute
	ASIA	Tonga				Director of Environment	Department of Environment
	ASIA	Turkey	Mr. Vehbi Eser	M	PhD, Agronomy/Agriculture	Head of FieldCropResearchDpt	Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Affairs
	ASIA ASIA	Turkey Turkey	Mr. Münevver Arslan Ms. Ayse Sermin	M F	MSc, Forest Engineer Chemistry Eng	Head	Ministry of Environment and Forestry Ministry of Environment and Forestry
		-	-				
	CEE	Bosnia&H.	. Ms. Drena Gadzo	F	Msc Agronomy	SeniorAssistant on Crop Prod.	Faculty of Agriculture
	GRULAC		Ms. Volga Iñiguez	F	PhD Molecular Biolog&Biotec.	Director	Institut of Molecular Biology&Biotech.
	GRULAC		Ms.Maria Jose Sampaio	F			Co.on research on Agriculture and Livestock
				M			Instituto Alexander Von Humboldt
	GRULAC GRULAC		Vr. Jose Luis Solleiro	М	Agricultural Biotechnology	Tech. Director	AgroBIO Mexico
	GRULAC	venezuela	a 38 experts				
	WEOG	Belgium	Mr. Arnold Jacques De Dixmude	Μ	Ing. Agronome	Environmental Advisor	BelgianFederalPublicServiceForeignAffairs
	WEOG	Canada	Ms. Nancy S. Hamzawi	F	Env.Chemical Engineer	Director, Internat.policy&coop.	Environment Canada
	WEOG	Germany	Mr. Horst Freiberg Ms. Gunn Paulsen	M F	PhD Forestry	CHM NFP	FederalAgency forNatureConservation
	WEOG	Norway	Ms. Gunn Paulsen	F		Senior Adviser	Directorate for NatureManagement
ORGANIZATIONS							
	ICRAF	Kenya	Mr. Brent Swallow	М		ThemeLeader for Env.Services	ICRAF (WorldAgroforestryCentre)
	ICRAF	Kenya	Mr. August Temu	Μ	PhD Forestry	TL for StrenghteningInstitutions	ICRAF (WorldAgroforestryCentre)
	IUCN	Switzerl.	Ms. Tomme Young	F		Senior Legal Officer	Env. Law Center
	IUCN		Mr. Balakrishna Pisupati	Μ		Head	Regional Biodiv.Programme
	NGO	USA	Mr. Edward Hammond	М			ThirdWorldNetwork/TheSunshineProject
UN agencies							
	FAO		to nominate an expert				
	UNFF	USA	Mr. Kari Kangas	М		ForestPolicy&EconomicAdvisor	United Nations Forum on Forests
	UNU	Japan	Mr. Brendan Tobin	М	Barrister	Coordinator of the Biodiplomacy I	
	UNU	Japan	Mr. Mohammad Taeb	М	PhD	Agricultural Biotech/Coordinator o	f theUNU-IASProgramme onSciencePolicies forSust.Dev.
	UNEP-WC		Mr. Jeremy Harrison	М			CHM InformalAdvisoryCommittee
	UNEP-WC		Mr. Peter Hall	М		Director	Biodiv Info Services
	UNEP-WC	MC	Mr. Peter Herkenrath	М			UN Env Management Group
	Industy						
	-	oav IndOra	Mr. Robert B. Horsch	М	PhD Genetics	Vice President	Monsanto Company