



Ref.: SCBD/STTM/MV/DCo/va/45481

18 October 2004

NOTIFICATION

Expert Group on Outcome-oriented Targets for the Programmes of Work on the Biodiversity of Inland Water Ecosystems and Marine and Coastal Ecosystems

Montreal, Canada, 25 – 27 October 2004

List of selected experts

Dear Madam/Sir,

Please find attached the list of the members of the Expert Group on Outcome-oriented Targets for the Programmes of Work on the Biodiversity of Inland Water Ecosystems and Marine and Coastal Ecosystems, selected from government-designated experts in consultation with the Bureau of the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice of the Convention.

Due to the large amount of applications received, only selected participants will be notified along with an invitation letter to the meeting. The list of selected experts is also available on the website at: http://www.biodiv.org/doc/meeting.aspx?mtg= EMIWMC-01

Accept, Madam/Sir, the assurance of my highest consideration.

Yours sincerely,

[signed]

Hamdallah Zedan Executive Secretary

To: CBD & SBSTTA National Focal Points



United Nations Environment Programme Tel: +1 (514) 288-2220 Fax: +1 (514) 288-6588 World Trade Centre 393 Saint-Jacques Street, Suite 300 Montréal, Québec, Canada H2Y 1N9

Annex I

Experts to the Ad hoc technical expert group on indicators for assessing progress towards the 2010 biodiversity target

Africa

Mr. Patrick Ofori-Danson, Ghana Ms. Nyawira Muthiga, Kenya Mr. Dereje Agonafir Habtewold, Ethiopia Mr. Modibo Cissé, Mali

Asia and Pacific

Mr. Romeo B. Trono, Philippines Ms. Montira Piamthipmanus, Thailand Mr. Rodney Quatre, Seychelles Mr. Khalid Al-Majali, Jordan

Central and Eastern Europe (CEE)

Mr. Jan Plesnik, Czech Republic Mr. Hristo Petkov Bojinov, Bulgaria Ms. Gordana Beltram, Slovenia

Latin American & Caribbean countries (LAC)

Mr. Norvin Sepulveda, Nicaragua Ms. Teresita Borges Hernandez, Cuba Ms. Amrikha Singh, Barbados Mr. Braulio Dias, Brazil

Western Europe and Others Group (WEOG)

Mr. Philippe Goulletquer, France Mr. Rune Skjoldal, Norway Mr. Richard Denis Robarts, Canada Mr. Joost Backx, Netherlands Mr. Paul Rose, UK Ms. Annemarie Watt, Australia

Resource persons Ms. Jutta Stadler, Germany

SBSTTA Bureau

Mr. Christian Prip

Observers from the following organizations were invited to participate in the meeting:

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), Ramsar Convention on Wetlands, UNEP-World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UNEP-WCMC), IUCN – The World Conservation Union, NGO Consortium, Regional Seas Conventions and Action Plans (Caribbean Environment Programme, Mediterranean Action Plan, South Pacific Region Environment Programme, the OSPAR Convention, Permanent Commission for the South Pacific), the International Collective in Support of Fishworkers, the International Coral Reed Initiative (ICRI) and the Worldwide Fund for Nature (WWF).