Secretariat



Ref.: SCBD/STTM/JM/PD/43351 28 May 2004

NOTIFICATION

Meeting of the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Island Biodiversity, Canary Islands, Spain, 6-10 September 2004

List of selected experts and change of date

Dear Madam/Sir,

Please find attached the list of the members of the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Island Biodiversity, selected from among government-designated experts in consultation with the Bureau of the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice of the Convention. Representatives of a few intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations will also participate as observers.

I would also like to inform you that the meeting of the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Island Biodiversity will take place in the Canary Islands, Spain, **from 6 to 10 September 2004**, and not in July 2004, as previously announced.

Due to the large amount of applications received, only selected participants will be notified along with an invitation letter to the meeting. The list of selected experts is also available on the website at: **www.biodiv.org/meetings/default.aspx?thm=isl.**

Accept, Madam/Sir, the assurance of my highest consideration.

Yours sincerely,

Hamdallah Zedan Executive Secretary

To: CBD National Focal Points



United Nations Environment Programme Tel: +1 (514) 288-2220 Fax: +1 (514) 288-6588 Email: secretariat@biodiv.org Web: www.biodiv.org World Trade Centre 393 Saint-Jacques Street, Suite 300 Montréal, Québec, Canada H2Y 1N9

Annex I

Members to the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Island Biodiversity

AIMS¹

- Mr. Isildo Gomes (Cape Verde)
- Mr. Mohamed Bacar A. Dossar (Comoros)
- Ms. Hajanirina Razafindrainibe (Madagascar)
- Mr. Jogeeswar Seewoobaduth (Mauritius)
- Mr. Didier Dogley (Seychelles)

CARIBBEAN

- Ms. Adele Blair (Antigua & Barbuda)
- Mr. Donald Cooper (Bahamas)
- Ms. Dalia Salabarria (Cuba)
- Mr. Linus Spencer Thomas (Grenada)
- Mr. Joseph Ronald Toussaint (Haiti)
- Ms. Elaine Fisher (Jamaica)

ASIA & PACIFIC

- Ms. Ana Tiraa-Passfield (Cook Islands)
- Ms. Nenenteiti Teariki (Kiribati)
- Mr. Joel Miles (Palau)
- Ms. Theresa Mundita (Philippines), representing the Bureau of SBSTTA
- Ms. Praulai Nootmorn (Thailand)

WEOG

- Mr. Olivier Gargominy (France)
- Ms. Saori Hirai (Japan)
- Mr. Rod Hay (New Zealand)
- Mr. Angel Bañares (Spain)

Observers

- Mr. Lloyd Loope (The Government of the United States)
- Mr. Dave de Vera (Asia Indigenous Peoples Pact (AIPP))
- Mr. Albert DeTerville (Bethechilokono Indigenous Peoples of St. Lucia)
- Mr. François Martel (Conservation International)
- Mr. Maurizio F. Ferrari (Forest Peoples Programme)
- Mr. Rodolfo Aguilar (International Indigenous Forum on Biodiversity)
- Mr. Giuseppe Orlando (International Scientific Council for Island Development)
- Mr. Gerald Miles (Nature Conservancy)
- Ms. Mililani Trask (Permanent Forum of Indigenous Issues)
- Ms. Mary Power (South Pacific Regional Environment Programme)
- Mr. Manuel Dengo (UN DESA, SIDS Unit)
- Mr. Salvatore Arico (UNESCO)
- Ms. Margaret Oduk (UNEP)

¹ AIMS is the acronym used for the group of small island developing States located in the Atlantic and Indian Oceans, and in the Mediterranean and South China Seas.