Secretariat



8 May 2001

NOTIFICATION

Workshop on Liability and Redress in the Context of the Convention on Biological Diversity Paris, France, 18-20 June 2001

The Workshop on Liability and Redress in the context of the Convention on Biological Diversity is being organized in accordance with Decision V/18, paragraph 8, in which the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity:

"...welcome(d) the offer of the Government of France to organize a workshop on liability and redress in the context of the Convention on Biological Diversity."

The purpose of the workshop is to review the state of international law relating to liability and redress for transboundary environmental damage and to provide guidance to the Conference of the Parties regarding its consideration of a process for reviewing Article 14, paragraph 2, of the Convention.

The workshop will be held in Paris, France, on 18-20 June 2001. The documentation for the meeting is available on the Secretariat website [to come].

On the basis of nominations received from Governments, the Executive Secretary, in consultation with the Bureau, has invited experts to participate in the workshop. The selection of experts was based on the following criteria:

- knowledge and experience of international environmental law, international law relating to liability and redress for transboundary harm, or issues concerning the conservation and sustainable use of biological diversity;
- equitable geographical representation; and
- gender balance.

Competent international and non-governmental organizations were invited to designate representatives to participate in the workshop as observers.

The Annex to this notification lists Government nominated experts and observers invited to participate in the Workshop.

WORKSHOP ON LIABILITY & REDRESS

18-20 June 2001, Paris, France

List of Participants

A. WEOG:

- 1. Jurg Bally (Switzerland);
- 2. Marie-Louise Larsson (Sweden);
- 3. Veit Koester (Denmark);
- 4. Anne Daniel (Canada);
- 5. Nicola Notaro (EC)
- 6. Alistair McGlone (UK);
- 7. Marie-Laure Tanon (France);
- 8. Julia Werner (Germany);
- 9. R.J.M. Lefeber (The Netherlands).
- 10. Jennifer Meehan (Australia)

B. AFRICA:

- 1. Samuel Yeye (Burkina Faso);
- 2. Dessalegne Mesfin (Ethiopia);
- 3. Kenyatta Nyjrenda (Malawi);
- 4. Iris Carolus-Cowin (Seychelles);
- 5. Ahmed Birouk (Morocco);
- 6. Alberto Jaime Macucule (Mozambique);
- 7. Mary Fosi Mbantenkhu (Cameroon)
- 8. Kofi Dantsey (Togo)

C. ASIA AND THE PACIFIC:

- 1. F. R. Talayasingham (Sri Lanka);
- 2. Han Yingda (China);
- 3. Daud Silalahi (Indonesia);
- 4. Atty. Clarence Darrow M. De Guia (The Philippines);
- 5. Mina Rhee (Palau);
- 6. Peiman Seadat (Iran);
- 7. Hafiz Akhtar (Pakistan).

D. <u>CEE:</u>

- 1. Edgars Purins (Latvia);
- 2. Ricardas Uzolas (Lithuania);

E. GRULAC:

- 1. Julio Barboza (Argentina);
- 2. Carole Denise Excell (Jamaica);
- 3. Hector C. Almeida (Cuba);
- 4. Carmen Roldán (Costa Rica);
- 5. E. Ezcurra (Mexico);
- 6. M. Isaacs (Bahamas).
- 7. Guido Silva Soares (Brazil).
- 8. Dra. Jimena Nieto Carrasco (Colombia)

List of Observers:

- 1. UNEP, Division of Policy Development and Law;
- 2. IUCN, Environmental Law Center, Bonn;
- 3. The International Atomic Energy Agency;
- 4. Secretariat of the Basel Convention;
- **5.** The International Maritime Organization
- **6.** The International Law Commission;
- 7. International Chamber of Commerce
- 8. Global Industry Coaliton
- 9. Greenpeace International
- 10. Christoph Bail (EC)
- **11.** Robert K. Harris (USA)
- 12. Ms. Bernaditas Muller (Philippines)
- **13.** The Third World Network
- **14.** Friends of the Earth France
- 15. Meridian Institute
- **16.** Ms. Birthe Ivars (Norway)
- 17. Mr. Hames Albert Descamps (Belgium)
- 18. European Chemical Industry Council
- 19. Ms. Soledad Aguilar (Argentina)
- 20. Solagral

Last Updated: 8 June 2001