GEF Support to Biodiversity Enabling

- In total, there are 145 GEF-eligible counties for Biodiversity Enabling Activities;
- Currently, **112** countries have either contacted GEF Sec directly, or via UNDP or UNEP as GEF Agencies, leaving around **33** countries "unconnected" to the BD-EA process;
- UNEP: Umbrella PIFs (Phase I 30 countries and Phase II 27 countries) were approved at 41st GEF Council Meeting in November. UNEP will now submit a FSP document based on the approved PIFs, which can be approved at the level of GEF CEO;
- Around 15 countries are also working with UNEP on "standalone" proposals but, to date, only one (Kenya) has been approved.



GEF Support to Biodiversity Enabling

- **UNDP**: currently working with around **35** countries, but only a few have been submitted to GEF for review, and only Seychelles has been approved to date.
- Finally, **5** countries have utilized the **Direct Access** route to date (**Albania**, Bangladesh, **Belarus**, India and Jamaica). Of these, only Belarus and India are approved.



GEF Support to Biodiversity Enabling

Enabling Activity support could be provided for:

- revising National Biodiversity Strategies and Action Plans (NBSAPs) in line with the Strategic Plan for Biodiversity 2011-2020 adopted at COP-10;
- implementation of CoP guidance related to the Clearing House Mechanism (CHM); and
- 5th Biodiversity National Report
- Biosafety 2nd Report separate 20K fund via UNEP (closed)





The Nagoya Protocol on Access to Genetic Resources and the Fair and Equitable Sharing of Benefits arising from their Utilization



Status: Signature and ratification

- Nagoya Protocol adopted at COP 10, October 2010
- Protocol open for signature at UN Headquarters in New York from 2 February 2011 until 1 February 2012
- Entry into force 90 days after the date of deposit of the 50th instrument of ratification
- COP 11, 8 to 19 October 2012, India
 - Target for convening the Nagoya Protocol's first meeting of the Parties
 - Fiftieth instrument of ratification to be deposited no later than **10 July 2012** to meet this objective



Status of signatures and ratification

CBD

As of 1 December 2011, 68 Parties have signed, and 1 ratified

Algeria	Cape Verde	Ecuador	Hungary	Mozambique	Romania	Tajikistan
Antigua and Barbuda	Central African republic	European Union	India	Netherlands	Rwanda	Тодо
Austria	Colombia	Finland	Indonesia	Niger	Serbia	Trinidad and Tobago
Bangladesh	Congo	France	Italy	Norway	Seychelles	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Belgium	Costa Rica	Gabon (1)	Japan	Palau	Slovenia	Uruguay
Benin	Czech republic	Germany	Luxemburg	Panama	South Africa	Yemen
Bhutan	Democratic Republic of the Congo	Ghana	Madagascar	Peru	Spain	Argentina
Brazil	Denmark	Greece	Mali	Poland	Sudan	Vanuatu <mark>(68)</mark>
Bulgaria	Djibouti	Grenada	Mauritania	Portugal	Sweden	
Burkina Faso	Dominican Republic	Guatemala	Mexico	Republic of Korea	Switzerland	



FOR MORE INFORMATION ON ABS: <u>www.cbd.int/abs</u>

Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity

413 Saint Jacques Street, Suite 800 Montreal, QC, H2Y 1N9, Canada Tel: +1 514 288 2220 Fax: + 1 514 288 6588 Email: secretariat@cbd.int www.cbd.int







The Nagoya – Kuala Lumpur Supplementary Protocol on Liability and Redress to the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety



Signature, ratification & entry into force

The Supplementary Protocol, in accordance with its Article 17, is open for signature at the United Nations Headquarters, New York from 7 March 2011 to 6 March 2012.

Consistent with Article 41 of the Convention on Biological Diversity, the COP-MOP requested the Secretary General of the United Nations to be the Depository.

The Supplementary Protocol will enter into force **90** days after deposit of the **40**th instrument of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession.

Only Parties to the Biosafety Protocol may become Parties to the Supplementary Protocol.



Signature, ratification & entry into force (cont'd)

The Supplementary Protocol is open for signature by Parties to the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety

Dates: 7 March 2011 – 6 March 2012 Venue: UN Headquarters, New York

Certified true copies:

http://treaties.un.org/pages/DB.aspx?path=DB/Opening%20for% 20Signature/page1_en.xml&menu=MTDSG

More information: http://bch.cbd.int/protocol/NKL_Protocol.shtml





Signature, ratification & entry into force (cont'd)

Status of Signature (30 November 2011)

Commency	.IDentice	Conumbry	.ILDank ce	Conuntry	.IDatituz
1. Antigua & Barbuda	09 Aug 2011	13. Gennany	20 Sept. 2011	25. Nethedanis	7March2011
2 Austria	11 May 201 1	14. Hungary	11 May 2011	26 Panama	3 May 2011
3. Belgium	20 Sept. 201 1	15. India	11 Oct. 2011	27. Pan	4 May 2011
4. Benin	28 Oct. 2011	16. keland	11 May 2011	28. Polani	20 Sept. 2011
5. Bolgaia	11 May 201 1	17. Italy	15 June 2011	29. Portugal	20 Sept. 2011
6. Cape Verde	26 Sept. 2011	18. Latvia	11 May 2011	30. Romania	11 May 2011
7. Colombia	7Mach2011	19. Lithuania	11 May 2011	31. Slovenia	11 May 2011
 Czech Republic Denmak 	11 May 2011 7 March 2011	20. Laurabourg	11 May 2011	32. Spain	21 July 2011
		21. Malagacar	22 Sept. 2011	33. Switzeland	11 May 2011
10. European Union	11 May 2011	22. Manitania	18 May 2011	34. Sweden	7March2011
		23. Montenego	11 May 2011	35. Togo	27 Sept. 2011
11. Finland	11 May 2011	24. Mozanhique	26 Sept. 2011	36. Tunisia	11 May 2011
12. France	11 May 2011	_	_		